UPDATED w/UStream Coverage: Emergency Appropriations Committee Meeting TODAY on LePage, Mayhew “DHHS Broke in 3 Weeks” Claims

Posted on May 19, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , |

(Fingers crossed that this UStream works; first attempt at live event feed. ~AP)

Link to our new UStream Channel.

AFA emergency session agenda

AFA emergency session agenda

In light of the news late Friday that despite multiple supplemental budgets for FY ’12-13, DHHS doesn’t have enough money to pay its bills (again), an emergency meeting for the AFA committee has been called for today. Commissioner Mary Mayhew has been requested to appear to answer questions.

    lepage mayhewDemocratic leaders questioned why LePage sent a letter to them on a Friday evening rather than request a meeting to discuss the urgent news. Alfond and Eves also requested Mayhew appear before the Legislature’s budget-writing Appropriations Committee on Sunday to answer questions. The committee is holding weekend sessions as the Legislature’s June 19 adjournment date approaches.

    “The timing and intent of this letter is questionable,” Eves said in a prepared response. “It seems more geared toward fear mongering than problem solving. We have been pleased with the bipartisan work of the Appropriations Committee for the last five months. In order for their work to continue, we must get answers.”

    Alfond said Mayhew needs to “address the administration’s potential mismanagement of this situation.”

The committee was previously scheduled to work on the FY 14-15 budget today, but is adding time to speak with Mayhew about the letters sent out late Friday by herself and Governor LePage (see below). Among the possibilities is separating the change package presented last week from the FY 14-15 budget, a move that the administration appears reluctant to support at this time.

Here is a list of the committee members:


    Senator Dawn Hill (D-York), Chair

    Senator Emily Ann Cain (D-Penobscot)

    Senator Patrick S. A. Flood (R-Kennebec)

    Representative Margaret R. Rotundo (D-Lewiston), Chair

    Representative Michael E. Carey (D-Lewiston)

    Representative Linda F. Sanborn (D-Gorham)

    Representative Megan M. Rochelo (D-Biddeford)

    Representative Aaron M. Frey (D-Bangor)

    Representative Erik C. Jorgensen (D-Portland)

    Representative Kathleen D. Chase (R-Wells) *

    Representative Tom J. Winsor (R-Norway)

    Representative Tyler Clark (R-Easton)

    Representative Dennis L. Keschl (R-Belgrade)

    *Ranking Minority Member

Audio link here. Fingers crossed, I hope to have this live streaming video feed up and running as well.

DHHS Commissioner Mary Mayhew letter to Governor LePage

Governor LePage letter to Democratic Leadership:

View this document on Scribd

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

%d bloggers like this: